Skip to content Skip to navigation


AI100 Standing Committee 


Russ Altman headshot

Russ Altman is the Kenneth Fong Professor at Stanford, where he holds appointments in bioengineering, genetics, medicine and computer science. He is interested in the application of computing to basic problems in biology. His current research includes a project on representing the knowledge in scientific papers so that computers can easily access and use it. He is a fellow of the American College of Physicians, the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering and the International Society for Computational Biology. He is also a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies.

Barbara Grosz is Higgins Professor of Natural Sciences at Harvard University. Her research in AI has led to major advances in natural language processing and multi-agent collaborative systems. She is currently working on systems to improve coordination of health care providers and doctor-patient communication. Grosz is a fellow at the AAAI and the Assoication of Computing Machinery and a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the American Philosophical Society. She received the 2009 Allen Newll Award for her contributions to AI research. In 2015 she received the Research Excellence Award from the INternational Joint Conferences on Artificial Intelligence Organization. 

Mary Gray headshot

Mary L. Gray is a Senior Researcher at Microsoft Research and Fellow at Harvard University’s Berkman Klein Center for Internet and Society. She maintains a faculty appointment in the School of Informatics and Computing, and affiliations with Anthropology, Gender Studies and the Media School, at Indiana University. Mary studies how technology access, material conditions, and everyday uses of media transform people’s lives. Her research appears in publications that include the Harvard Business Review, International Journal of Communication, Cultural Anthropology, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, and Forbes. She served on the American Anthropological Association’s Executive Board and currently sits on the Executive Board of Public Responsibility in Medicine and Research (PRIM&R).

Eric Horvitz is a Distinguished Scientist and Managing Director of Microsoft Research Redmond. His research focuses on the principles and applications of machine intelligence, including methods for leveraging the complementarities of human and machine reasoning. He is a fellow and former president of the AAAI, as well as a fellow of the National Academy of Engineering, the Association for Computing Machinery, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. In 2013 he was elected to the CHI Academy, honoring his significant contributions to the field of human-computer interaction.

Percy Liang headshot

Percy Liang is an Assistant Professor of Computer Science at Stanford University (B.S. from MIT, 2004; Ph.D. from UC Berkeley, 2011). His research spans machine learning and natural language processing, with the goal of developing trustworthy agents that can communicate effectively with people and improve over time through interaction. Specific topics include question answering, dialogue, program induction, interactive learning, and reliable machine learning. His awards include the IJCAI Computers and Thought Award (2016), an NSF CAREER Award (2016), a Sloan Research Fellowship (2015), and a Microsoft Research Faculty Fellowship (2014).

Patrick Lin headshot

Patrick Lin, PhD, is the director of the Ethics + Emerging Sciences Group, based at California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, where he is a philosophy professor.  Current affiliations include Stanford Law School, Notre Dame, and World Economic Forum.  Previous affiliations include Stanford Engineering, US Naval Academy, Dartmouth, and UNIDIR.  He is well published in technology ethics, especially in AI and robotics and including the books Robot Ethics (MIT Press, 2012) andRobot Ethics 2.0  (Oxford University Press, 2017).  Dr. Lin regularly gives invited briefings to industry, media, and government; and he teaches courses in ethics, technology, and law.

James Manyika headshot

James Manyika is a Senior Partner at McKinsey and Director of the McKinsey Global Institute. James was appointed by President Obama as Vice Chair of the Global Development Council at the White House. He is on the boards of Council on Foreign Relations, Aspen Institute, John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, Oxford Internet Institute, MIT’s Initiative on the Digital Economy, UC Berkeley’s School of Information. James was in the Robotics Research Group, Programming Research Group, Oxford, a visiting scientist NASA Jet Propulsion Labs, a faculty exchange fellow at MIT. A Rhodes Scholar, James holds DPhil. MSc. MA. from Oxford in Robotics, Computation, BSc Electrical Engineering from University of Zimbabwe.

Sheila McIlraith is a Professor of Computer Science at the University of Toronto.  Her research advances the principles and practice of artificial intelligence with a focus on human-machine sequential decision making in its many guises. She is currently serving as past-president of KR Inc., the international scientific foundation concerned with fostering research and communication on knowledge representation and reasoning. McIlraith is a fellow of the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI), associate editor of the Journal of Artificial Intelligence Research (JAIR), serves on the editorial board of Artificial Intelligence Magazine, and is a past associate editor of the journal Artificial Intelligence (AIJ).

Liz Sonenberg is Professor of Information Systems at the University of Melbourne, Australia. Her expertise is in the design of reasoning mechanisms for multi-agent and human-agent systems intended to exhibit collaborative behaviours, and particularly in computational approaches that can support human decision-making. Her current research focus is on explanation and on strategic deception in AI. She has served on a variety of advisory boards and formal company boards. Liz previously held positions as Dean of the Faculty of Science and Head of the Department of Information Systems, and is currently Pro Vice Chancellor Research Systems, and Pro Vice Chancellor Digital & Data, with responsibility for a range of University-wide policies.

Peter Stone is the David Bruton, Jr. Centennial Professor and Associate Chair of Computer Science, as well as Chair of the Robotics Consortium, at the University of Texas at Austin. In 2013 he was awarded the University of Texas System Regents' Outstanding Teaching Award and in 2014 he was inducted into the UT Austin Academy of Distinguished Teachers, earning him the title of University Distinguished Teaching Professor. Professor Stone's research interests in Artificial Intelligence include machine learning (especially reinforcement learning), multiagent systems, and robotics. He is an Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow, Guggenheim Fellow, AAAI Fellow, IEEE Fellow, and AAAS Fellow. In 2007 he received the IJCAI Computers and Thought Award and in 2016 he was awarded the ACM/SIGAI Autonomous Agents Research Award. Professor Stone co-founded Cogitai, Inc., a startup company focussed on continual learning, in 2015, and currently serves as President and COO.